Black Horses
Release Date: July 16, 2013
Label: Goodnight Records

01. Asha
02. When I Love You (I Love You All the While)
03. I Used to Live for Music
04. Boocat Leah
05. Shining Somewhere (Horses Version)
06. Passenger Train, Warped by the Rain
07. Coda Code
08. I Used to Live for a Thousand Years
09. Boom!
10. Long Way Home

Press Photos:
Adam Franklin 1
Adam Franklin 2
Black Horses Album cover

Press releases:

September 17, 2013  Magnet Premieres “Asha” Music Video From Adam Franklin & Bolts Of Melody

July 18, 2013  Rolling Stone Premieres “Boom!” From New Adam Franklin & Bolts Of Melody Album

July 12 2013 PopMatters Streams “Black Horses” – New Adam Franklin & Bolts Of Melody Album

July 10, 2013 Glide Magazine Premieres “Asha” From New Adam Franklin & Bolts Of Melody Album

June 4, 2013  The AV Club Premiere “Boocat Leah” From New Adam Franklin & Bolts Of Melody Album Today


Glide Magazine: Premiere: Adam Franklin & Bolts of Melody – “Asha”



Black Horses, the new album from Adam Franklin & Bolts of Melody, very much takes its prompt from the grand soundtrack era of the 1960s, when composers like John Barry, Ennio Morricone and David Axelrod were writing for major motion pictures in a way that did more than just complement the films, but morphed them into living beings with depth, histories and well-hewn voices. Those scores are inextricably linked with their cinematic components, and memories of scenes are heavily influenced by the musical atmosphere, and Franklin likewise employs many evocative moods to make a compelling, poignant and altogether cohesive album.

Using a four-note melody that is woven throughout Black Horses, Franklin creates a musical theme that establishes the path for the album. Songs like “I Used to Live for Music,” “Boom!,” “I Used to Live for a Thousand Years” and the instrumental “Coda Code” actively build this thread, which is fleshed out by more accessible, psych rock-leaning tracks like “Boocat Leah” and “When I Love You (I Love You All the While).”

“I found I had stockpiled a selection of songs that seemed disconnected stylistically,” writes Franklin, “and I was thinking, ‘Well, I’ve got some cool ideas here, but they’re all quite different and it doesn’t sound like an album.’ But then I started listening to the songs in different orders, culling tunes and adding others until eventually a record began to take shape.”

Black Horses reveals Adam Franklin’s adroit hand not only at songwriting but also instrumentation and ambience. The visual aspect of his music has long been apparent since his days as guitarist and main songwriter for UK-based band Swervedriver in the ‘90s with albums like Raise(1991) and Mezcal Head (1993), and throughout his solo career he’s allowed himself the space to experiment with a wide range of sounds, song structures and musical modes. So image-evoking is the music on Black Horses that it is almost as if the album is a score of itself.

Swervedriver will tour starting in March, 2015