[ezcol_1half]HOME VIDEO
Here In Weightless Fall
Release Date: July 10, 2014
Label: Dash Go

01. Symptoms of a Fall
02. Forget
03. Meant To Be
04. Release
05. Ghostly
06. Until the Ground
07. The Disappeared
08. Calm Down
09. Beacon
10. Nembutol Smiles
11. Advice

Press Photos:
Home Video 1
Home Video 2
Home Video 3
Home Video 4
Here In Weightless Fall Album cover

Press releases:

July 9, 2014  HOME VIDEO Premieres “Forget” Music Video On The Huffington Post, Album Out Now

October 9, 2014  HOME VIDEO Premieres New Album On PopMatters, Out Next Week

June 20, 2014  HOME VIDEO Premieres New Album On PopMatters, Out Next Week

Huffington Post: Home Video’s “Forget” Exclusive Explored, Explained


HOME VIDEO HERE IN WEIGHTLESS FALL Directly in the middle of Home Video’s newest album Here In Weightless Fall, singer Collin Ruffino chants “I’ll love until I’ve fallen down / I’ll love until I’m on the ground / You can’t take that away from me.” When taken in such circular repetition, this line become more mantra than defensive hyperbole. It’s urgent in delivery, and as the song’s intensity grows with harmonies swelling over drum machines and buzzing synths, layers begin to unfold, showing the dichotomy of defiance and vulnerability in “you can’t take that away.” It’s a line that begs a response, but also sets a course of independence.

It’s this exact tension that Home Video explores on their third album Here In Weightless Fall (Dash Go, 2014). Honing their craft by offering insightful lyrics, infectious melodies and entrancing instrumentation, Collin Ruffino and David Gross (the duo that comprise Home Video) demonstrate their well-refined hand at mixing narrative with electronica, creating worlds within captivating sonic landscapes that beg repeated listens. 

Politics play a central role on Here In Weightless Fall, whether they be spiritual, interpersonal or global. In fact, the struggle implicit in a breakup can be an apt metaphor for a fractured society, and Gross and Ruffino investigate the points where these paths converge. And, at times, those paths lead nowhere but into the void, where ghosts of what was trigger harrowing flashbacks when alone in the dark. 

Navigated darkness often leads to barbed cynicism, swaddled in heartache, but dig deeper and you’ll uncover nuances in these songs that join dark and light in thoughtful embrace, understanding the bleaker sides of life and relationships but not allowing it to consume wholly. It’s this push/pull that propels Here In Weightless Fall and establishes how far this band has come in just over a decade of making music together. 

Over the past years, the band members have expanded their musical community to include other touring opportunities and side projects, with Gross joining Penguin Prison and MNDR on stage and in studio sessions for their upcoming albums, while Ruffino launched NiveHive, a political, electronic concept album about WikiLeaks and an Edward Snowden-inspired single, while also scoring for film and TV.  

Originally discovered by Warp Records, the label released Home Video’s first two EPs in 2004, drawing considerable attention from BBC Radio 1, NME, and Rolling Stone. In 2006, New York-based Defend Music released debut full-length, No Certain Night Or Morning. Home Video have also remixed songs for bands like Bear in Heaven, Wave Machines, Faunts, Bang Gang, and Naked Hearts. 2010 brought their second album, The Automatic Process, which earned praise from veteran KCRW Music Director Jason Bentley, who wrote that the album keeps the promise of the its striking, hypnotic packaging, “with its layered intensity and ethereal vocals, at times making strides into territory charted by the likes of Radiohead and Massive Attack without losing their own identity along the way.”